Progress through digital evolution

Digitizing internal processes without having to immediately make heavy investments in a new system infrastructure – a challenge that many companies are currently facing. Fortunately, it is not always necessary to rely on costly new systems to drive digital transformation forward. Often, the existing digital infrastructure lends itself to further development. As an experienced partner, we support you in identifying the right basic systems and their further development. We also develop solutions that are individually tailored to your requirements and systems, such as your ERP or MES system.

A manufacturer of plastic parts was recently able to convince himself of the advantages of digital process transformation with Dr. Schönheit + Partner (S + P). S + P carried out a digitalization project for this manufacturer in the area of intralogistics: In the customer’s existing system, high manual efforts were previously incurred in production planning and control (PPC), especially logistics and transport control. To ensure a sustainable improvement, the system had to be designed with maximum flexibility. Our solution approach was a digitalized planning of the tugger trains and schedules of the intralogistics. The data required could be derived from the existing Manufacturing Execution System (MES):

  • Order overview
  • Personnel deployment
  • Machine overview
  • Delivery/collection frequency

The collected data enables full transparency over the existing intralogistics system and thus optimal dimensioning of resources. Tugger trains are controlled on the basis of real needs instead of rigid planning.

During operation, the system was introduced and adapted to the needs of the users. The findings from the active use of the system played an important role. For example, feedback from transport logistics was added to the system during the trial phase, helping to record actual journey times and further optimize station planning. The process transformation of existing IT systems continues to be used, new functionalities are added according to customer needs. Overall, this evolutionary further development of the existing infrastructure has enabled the following goals to be achieved:

  • Optimal utilization of existing transport logistics
  • 23% reduction in non-value-adding activities in logistics
  • 33% fewer tugger trains
  • 16% reduction in administrative expenses

There is more potential in your existing infrastructure than you thought. Would you like to know what added value our process transformation can offer you? We would be happy to define your specific task together.

You can find more information about our process transformation services here.

Recent publications

Industry of Future 2024

Under this title, Dr Schönheit + Partner invited top executives from the manufacturing industry to Cologne on 23 January 2024 to exchange experiences on the Industry of Future. The central …

Read more »

Start typing and press Enter to search

Fortschritt durch digitale Evolution

Die innerbetrieblichen Prozesse digitalisieren, ohne dabei sofort hohe Investitionen in eine neue Systeminfrastruktur tätigen zu müssen – eine Herausforderung, vor der viele Unternehmen derzeit stehen. Zum Glück muss nicht immer auf kostspielige Neusysteme gesetzt werden, um die digitale Transformation voranzutreiben. Häufig bietet sich die vorhandene digitale Infrastruktur zur Weiterentwicklung an. Als erfahrener Partner unterstützen wir Sie bei der Identifikation der richtigen Basissysteme und deren Weiterentwicklung und erarbeiten außerdem Lösungen, die individuell auf Ihre Ansprüche und Systeme, wie zum Beispiel Ihr ERP- oder MES-System, zugeschnitten sind.

Von den Vorteilen der digitalen Prozesstransformation mit Dr. Schönheit + Partner (S + P) konnte sich kürzlich ein Hersteller von Kunststoffteilen überzeugen. Für diesen führte S + P ein Digitalisierungsprojekt im Bereich der Intralogistik durch: Im bestehenden System des Kunden entstanden bisher hohe manuelle Aufwände in der Produktionsplanung und -steuerung (PPS), insbesondere der Logistik- und Transportsteuerung. Um eine nachhaltige Verbesserung sicherzustellen, galt es, das System maximal flexibel zu gestalten. Unser Lösungsansatz war eine digitalisierte Planung der Routenzüge und Fahrpläne der Intralogistik. Auf Basis der Datengrundlage aus dem bestehenden Manufacturing Execution System (MES) ließen sich die benötigten Daten ableiten:

  • Auftragsübersicht
  • Personaleinsatz
  • Maschinenübersicht
  • Liefer-/Abholfrequenz

Die erhobenen Daten ermöglichen die volle Transparenz über das bestehende Intralogistiksystem und somit eine optimale Dimensionierung der Ressourcen. Die Steuerung von Routenzügen erfolgt gemäß realer Bedarfe, anstatt auf Basis von starren Planungen.

Im laufenden Betrieb wurde das System eingeführt und an die Bedürfnisse der Nutzer angepasst. Dabei spielten die Erkenntnisse aus der aktiven Anwendung des Systems eine bedeutende Rolle. So konnte noch während der Erprobungsphase eine Rückmeldung der Transportlogistik im System ergänzt werden, die dabei hilft, die tatsächlichen Fahrtzeiten zu erfassen und die Stationsplanung weiter zu optimieren. Die Prozesstransformation bereits vorhandener IT-Systeme wird weiter genutzt und entsprechend dem Kundenbedarf durch neue Funktionalitäten ergänzt. Insgesamt konnten durch diese evolutionäre Weiterentwicklung der bestehenden Infrastruktur folgende Ziele erreicht werden:

  • Optimale Auslastung der bestehenden Transportlogistik
  • 23 % Reduktion nicht wertschöpfender Tätigkeiten in der Logistik
  • 33 % weniger Routenzüge
  • 16 % Aufwandsreduzierung im administrativen Bereich

In der bestehenden Infrastruktur steckt mehr Potenzial als gedacht. Sie möchten wissen, welchen Mehrwehrt Ihnen unsere Prozesstransformation bieten kann? Gerne definieren wir gemeinsam Ihre spezifische Aufgabenstellung.

Weitere Informationen zu unserem Angebot rund um das Thema Prozesstransformationfinden Sie hier.

Start typing and press Enter to search