PROBAT GO

PROBAT GO FUTURE FACTORY SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED – AHEAD OF SCHEDULE AND UNDER BUDGET

Dr. Schönheit + Partner planned and accompanied the new construction and conversion of the production and logistics halls

The total construction time of the new building and the revitalization of the existing building for production with attached production-related administration and break area for PROBAT AG (PROBAT) at the Emmerich site, Germany, was just over 2 years. Around 3 weeks before the scheduled completion date, on August 25, 2022, the overall acceptance and handover to the client PROBAT took place. The 4,900 m² new building as well as the conversion of the 13,000 m² existing area are based on the future-oriented factory concept of the consulting and planning company Dr. Schönheit + Partner Consulting Engineering (S + P), which the in-house specialists from the areas of factory planning, architecture and project control developed and subsequently implemented for the world’s leading manufacturer of coffee roasting machines and systems. The PROBAT GO future factory’s completion was not only more than 2 weeks ahead of the planned final date, but also significantly undercut the fixed investment volume of a total of 40 million euros.

For more than 150 years PROBAT in Emmerich, Germany, has been producing roasting machines and plants for the coffee processing industry. With an economically, ecologically and socially oriented production, the site is to be made fit for the future. The basis for the PROBAT factory of the future is the factory structure planning carried out by S + P, which provides for a process-oriented factory design with optimum arrangement of the production and organizational areas. Changeable structures and sufficient expansion areas are to enable future growth. Based on the overall target for the site and the existing processes, the target layout was developed, i.e. the optimum arrangement of machinery and equipment as well as logistics, and only then was the “building envelope” designed. This planning “from the inside out” ensures the optimal use of the building.

The facade of the new production hall already sets new standards in the design of the PROBAT factory of the future. The panels, whose color was chosen in line with the corporate design, have two different degrees of gloss. This results in different reflections depending on the time of day and weather conditions and gives the facade a lively appearance. Floor-to-ceiling windows, fully glazed doors and roof light strips provide high transparency and natural light inside the hall, in addition to the installed LED lighting. The administration area, which is integrated into the hall close to the production area, is also equipped with floor-to-ceiling windows to create a connection between the administration on the 1st floor and the production at ground level. The process planning provides for logistics and the small parts warehouse in the heart of the production hall. This ensures short distances to the various production areas. A pleasant working atmosphere is ensured, among other things, by special soundproofing measures and the perspectives of the walkways, which always provide a view to the outside.

In addition to the newly built production hall, the conversion measures on the adjacent existing buildings for production and logistics began in August 2021: the complete media supply as well as the floors were renewed and the facade was equipped with newly installed windows. The conversion of the 13,000 m² existing area took place during ongoing operations, with the experienced specialists from S + P ensuring the cost-effectiveness of the processes and architecture at every stage of expansion.

“We broke new ground with the construction of our PROBAT GO factory. Our factory planner designed the factory of the future from the inside out, before its architects started with the factory design. The result is a factory that prepares us for the industrial future in a competitive, ecological and adaptable way,” says Wim Abbing, President & CEO, PROBAT. “Moreover, the fact that our factory was completed ahead of schedule and under the approved budget speaks for the success of this project, for which we express our great gratitude to Dr. Schönheit + Partner as well as to the general contractor Schmeing Holding GmbH.”

“With the construction of this sustainably oriented, modern manufacturing facility, we are also setting an international benchmark in our core markets, as it reflects the constantly increasing quality demands of customers on our products and services,” explains Rainer Rinke, Executive Vice President Operations, PROBAT. “In addition, the PROBAT Future Factory empathises our company’s claim to be an employer with strong future prospects in the competition for the region’s best talents.”

“Our goal was to develop the new building and the revitalization in the existing building as a cohesive whole, with the highest standards of industrial, economic and ecological production. With a clear structure, high flexibility and improved climate footprint, the PROBAT GO Future Factory now offers all the prerequisites for competitiveness as a German plant manufacturer on the global market,” says Dr. Martin Schönheit, managing partner, Dr. Schönheit + Partner Consulting Engineering.

“The structure of the production and logistics areas as well as the production-related administration is consistently open from the inside to the outside. It is the final result of 2/3 existing building and 1/3 new building after a construction period of just over 2 years in the ongoing process,” says Peter Thomé, managing director and architect, Dr. Schönheit + P. Engineering GmbH. “After the revitalization of the existing building, the production hall as a whole appears as if it was cast from a single mold across all areas.”

Lively facade design of the new PROBAT production hall (Source: Dr. Schönheit + Partner)

PROBAT production hall in a uniform, reduced color scheme and with plenty of natural light (Source: Dr. Schönheit + Partner)

Integrated administration close to production, with high transparency and connection to the ground-level production area through floor-to-ceiling windows (Source: Dr. Schönheit + Partner)

Recent publications

bordbar MANUFAKTUR

We are delighted to be able to count another special project among our references: the sustainable factory of bordbar design GmbH. With the construction of this new building in Cologne, Germany, …

Read more »

34th German Assembly Congress

On June 5 and 6, the Assembly Congress in Munich, Germany, was all about future technologies. Under the motto “Assembly and AI”, experts from the industry came together …

Read more »

S + P at the meet@th-koeln

Every year, the TH Köln holds the career fair for technical degree courses on the Deutz campus, including on June 5 – 6. We were represented with a stand and were very pleased about …

Read more »

Start typing and press Enter to search

PROBAT GO

PROBAT GO ZUKUNFTSFABRIK ERFOLGREICH FERTIGGESTELLT  – VOR TERMIN UND UNTER BUDGET

Dr. Schönheit + Partner plante und begleitete den Neu- und Umbau der Produktions- und Logistikhallen

Etwas mehr als 2 Jahre betrug die Gesamtbauzeit des Neubaus sowie der Revitalisierung des Bestands für die Fertigung mit angeschlossener produktionsnaher Verwaltung und Pausenbereich für die PROBAT AG (PROBAT) am Standort Emmerich. Rund 3 Wochen vor dem geplanten Fertigstellungstermin, am 25. August 2022, fand die Gesamtabnahme und Übergabe an den Bauherrn PROBAT statt. Der 4.900 m² große Neubau sowie der Umbau der 13.000 m² großen Bestandsfläche basieren auf dem zukunftsfähigen Fabrikkonzept der Beratungs- und Planungsgesellschaft Dr. Schönheit + Partner Consulting Engineering (S + P), das die hauseigenen Spezialisten aus den Bereichen Fabrikplanung, Architektur und Projektsteuerung für den weltweit führenden Hersteller von Kaffeeröstmaschinen und -anlagen erarbeiteten und anschließend umsetzten. Die Fertigstellung der PROBAT GO Zukunftsfabrik erfolgte nicht nur mehr als 2 Wochen vor dem geplanten Endtermin, sondern unterschritt das festgesetzte Investitionsvolumen von insgesamt 40 Millionen Euro deutlich.

Seit mehr als 150 Jahren produziert PROBAT in Emmerich am Rhein Röstmaschinen und -anlagen für die kaffeeverarbeitende Industrie. Mit einer ökonomisch, ökologisch und sozial ausgerichteten Fertigung sollte der Standort fit für die Zukunft gemacht werden. Grundlage für die PROBAT-Zukunftsfabrik ist die von S + P durchgeführte Werkstrukturplanung, die eine prozessorientierte Fabrikgestaltung mit optimaler Anordnung der Produktions- und Organisationsbereiche vorsieht. Wandelbare Strukturen und ausreichende Erweiterungsflächen sollen zukünftiges Wachstum ermöglichen. Basierend auf dem übergeordneten Zielbild für den Standort sowie den vorhandenen Prozessen wurde das Soll-Layout entwickelt, das heißt die optimale Anordnung der Maschinen und Anlagen sowie der Logistik, und erst im Anschluss die architektonisch hochwertige „Gebäudehülle“ entworfen. Mit dieser Planung „von innen nach außen“ wird der optimale Nutzen des Gebäudes sichergestellt.

Bereits die Fassade der neuen Fertigungshalle setzt neue Maßstäbe in der Gestaltung der PROBAT-Zukunftsfabrik. Die Paneele, deren Farbe im Einklang mit dem Corporate Design gewählt wurde, besitzen zwei unterschiedliche Glanzgrade. Dies führt zu unterschiedlichen Spiegelungen je nach Tageszeit und Wetterbedingungen und lässt die Fassade lebendig erscheinen. Bodentiefe Fenster, vollverglaste Tore und Dachlichtbänder sorgen für hohe Transparenz und natürliches Licht innerhalb der Halle, zusätzlich zu der installierten LED-Beleuchtung. Auch die in die Halle integrierte produktionsnahe Verwaltung ist mit bodentiefen Fenstern ausgestattet, um eine Verbindung zwischen der Administration in der 1. Etage und der ebenerdigen Produktion herzustellen. Die Prozessplanung sieht die Logistik und das Kleinteilelager im Herzen der Produktionshalle vor. So werden kurze Wege zu den verschiedenen Fertigungsbereichen sichergestellt. Für eine angenehme Arbeitsatmosphäre sorgen unter anderem spezielle Schallschutzmaßnahmen sowie die Perspektiven der Wege, die am Ende immer einen Blick nach außen gewähren.

Zusätzlich zu der neu gebauten Produktionshalle begannen im August 2021 die Umbaumaßnahmen an den angrenzenden Bestandsgebäuden für Produktion und Logistik: die komplette Medienversorgung und die Böden wurden erneuert sowie die Fassade mit neu eingebrachten Fenstern ausgestattet. Der Umbau der 13.000 m² großen Bestandsfläche geschah im laufenden Produktionsbetrieb, wobei die erfahrenen Spezialisten von S + P die Wirtschaftlichkeit der Prozesse und der Architektur in jeder Ausbaustufe sicherstellen.

„Mit dem Bau unserer Fabrik PROBAT GO haben wir neue Wege beschritten. Unser Fabrikplaner hat die Zukunftsfabrik von innen nach außen gestaltet, bevor seine Architekten mit dem Fabrikdesign begannen. Es ist eine Fabrik entstanden, die uns auf die industrielle Zukunft wettbewerbsfähig, ökologisch und wandlungsfähig vorbereitet“, so Wim Abbing, President & CEO, PROBAT. „Dass unsere Fabrik darüber hinaus vor Termin fertig und unter dem freigegebenen Budget realisiert wurde, spricht für den Erfolg dieses Projektes, für das wir Dr. Schönheit + Partner, aber auch dem Generalunternehmer Schmeing Holding GmbH unseren großen Dank aussprechen.“

„Mit dem Entstehen dieser nachhaltig ausgerichteten, modernen Fertigung setzen wir auch in unseren Kernmärkten eine internationale Benchmark, denn sie spiegelt den konstant steigenden Qualitätsanspruch der Kunden an unsere Produkte und Services wider“, erläutert Rainer Rinke, Executive Vice President Operations, PROBAT. „Darüber hinaus unterstreicht die PROBAT Zukunftsfabrik den Anspruch unseres Unternehmens als Arbeitgeber mit starker Zukunftsperspektive im Wettkampf um die besten Talente der Region.“

„Unser Ziel war es, den Neubau und die Revitalisierung im Bestandsbau als geschlossenes Ganzes zu entwickeln, mit höchsten Ansprüchen an eine industrielle, ökonomische wie ökologische Produktion. Die PROBAT GO Zukunftsfabrik bietet nun mit einer klaren Gliederung, hoher Flexibilität und verbessertem Klima-Fußabdruck alle Voraussetzungen für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit als deutscher Anlagenbauer auf dem Weltmarkt.“, meint Dr. Martin Schönheit, geschäftsführender Gesellschafter, Dr. Schönheit + Partner Consulting Engineering.

„Die von innen nach außen durchgängig offene Struktur der Produktions- und Logistikflächen sowie der produktionsnahen Verwaltung ist nach etwas mehr als 2 Jahren Bauzeit im laufenden Prozess das finale Ergebnis aus 2/3 Bestandsgebäude und 1/3 Neubau“, sagt Peter Thomé, Geschäftsführer und Architekt, Dr. Schönheit + P. Engineering GmbH. „Nach der Revitalisierung des Bestands wirkt die Fertigungshalle insgesamt über alle Bereiche wie aus einem Guss.“

Außenansicht der neuen PROBAT-Fertigungshalle (Quelle:
Dr. Schönheit + Partner)

PROBAT-Fertigungshalle in einheitlicher, reduzierter Farbgestaltung und mit viel natürlichem Licht (Quelle: Dr. Schönheit + Partner)

Integrierte produktionsnahe Verwaltung mit hoher Transparenz und Verbindung zum ebenerdigen Produktionsbereich durch bodentiefe Fenster (Quelle: Dr. Schönheit + Partner)

Start typing and press Enter to search